Dr. Richard J. Kramer, CEP Memorial Award for Environmental Excellence

kramer medal

The Dr. Richard J. Kramer Award for Environmental Excellence was established to nationally recognize extraordinary achievements of individuals in the environmental profession. The award, which was first presented in 2004, is open to all ABCEP members, and includes worldwide recognition, a 0.999 fine silver medallion and a laser-engraved birds-eye maple plaque. More details can be found here.



2019 Kramer Award
James Elliott, CEP

James Elliott, CEP

2018 Kramer Award 
Elizabeth 'Liz' Johnson, CEP

Elizabeth Johnson

2017 Kramer Award
Dr. Kris W. Thoemke, CEP

Kris Thoemke


Previous recipients include:

2018 – Elizabeth 'Liz' Johnson, CEP – Environmental Documentation
2017 – Dr. Kris Thoemke, CEP – Environmental Planning
2016 – Jennifer Lundberg, CEP – Environmental Documentation
2015 – Gary F. Kelman, MS, CEP – Environmental Documentation
2014 - Heidi Pruss, CEP – Operations
2013 - Connie Chitwood, CEP – Environmental Documentation
2012 – Lori Cunniff, CEP – Environmental Documentation
2011 – Richard P. McGucken, CEP – Emeritus
2010 – Irving D. Cohen, CEP – Environmental Assessment
2009 – John J. Fittipaldi, CEP – Environmental Planning
2008 – Richard E. Burke, CEP – Environmental Documentation
2007 - Michael R. Herbaugh, CEP – Environmental Assessment
2006 - Audrey Binder, CEP – Environmental Planning
2005 – Norman Arnold, CEP – Environmental Documentation
2004 – Dr. Robert A. Michaels, CEP – Environmental Assessment



The Emerging Environmental Professional Achievement Award is specifically focused on recognizing those under 35 years of age who demonstrate superior leadership, professional involvement, commitment to foster environmental improvement, and actions to help make the world a better place for future generations. This award is open to any young professional, with the recipient being featured in the ABCEP and NAEP’s publications. The recipient will also be eligible to apply for certification as either a CEP-IT or CEP through ABCEP, and application fees to join ABCEP will be waived for the first year. More details can be found here.

2019 Recipient: 
2019 – Maggi Young, CEP-IT

Previous recipients include: 
2018 – Nicolas Piane, CEP
2017 – Tina McIntrye, CEP
2013 – Heather Rickleff, CEP-IT



Please contact ABCEPs Executive Administrator; send an e-mail to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. if you have any questions about either award or their nominations process.